With Sync, end-to-end encryption (E2EE) is built in. Privacy Center gives you one place to control optional features that may require a different level of privacy to work.
- Features that work fully E2EE are unaffected.
- For features that cannot operate fully E2EE, you choose whether they are enabled or disabled.
- You can change these settings at any time.
Note: For Team accounts, Privacy Center settings are managed by the Team Administrator and apply to all users on the team.
This article covers the following:
- Extended previews
- Media streaming
- Microsoft editor
- Download accelerator
- Link compatibility
- Password reset
Extended previews
Extended previews let you view more file types directly in the web panel, without downloading them first.
Files that your web browser can preview natively (including PDF, text files, and supported images and media) are always rendered client-side and remain fully E2EE.
When Extended Previews is disabled:
All web panel previews remain fully E2EE and are processed client-side.
File types that cannot be previewed client-side must be downloaded and opened locally.
When Extended Previews is enabled:
Additional file types, such as Microsoft Office, OpenDocument, Autodesk, Photoshop, and DICOM files, are supported for preview in the web panel. For these file types, data is securely processed server-side when previewed. Preview data is temporary and is not permanently stored.
File types that can be previewed client-side remain E2EE.
Media streaming
Media streaming lets you play supported audio and video files directly in the Sync web panel and mobile app, without downloading them first.
When Media Streaming is disabled:
Files must be downloaded and played locally using a media player, maintaining E2EE.
When Media Streaming is enabled:
Audio and video is streamed using secure server-side processing.
Streaming data is retained only for the duration of the session and is never stored permanently.
Microsoft editor
Our Microsoft Office integration lets you open and edit supported Word, Excel, and PowerPoint files directly in Microsoft’s hosted editor.
When Microsoft Editor is disabled:
Microsoft Office files remain fully E2EE and are not shared with Microsoft for editing.
Files must be downloaded and edited locally using a compatible application.
When Microsoft Editor is enabled:
The editing option is available for supported Microsoft Office files.
When you choose to edit a file, file data is securely processed server-side, and passed to the Microsoft hosted editor.
Access is limited to the specific file you are actively editing.
Based on Microsoft’s documentation, file data is retained only for the duration of your editing session.
For more information about the Office Online integration, see Microsoft Office for Sync getting started guide.
Download accelerator
Download Accelerator improves web panel download speed and reliability for files larger than 100 MB.
This setting applies only to downloads from the web panel.
Downloads through the Sync desktop and mobile apps are always fully E2EE (not affectied by this setting)
Downloads under 100 MB from the web panel are also always fully E2EE.
When Download Accelerator is disabled:
All web panel downloads remain fully E2EE and are decrypted client-side.
Downloading very large files may be slower or less reliable, particularly in Safari.
When Download Accelerator is enabled:
Web panel downloads larger than 100 MB leverage secure server-side processing to improve web panel download speed and reliability.
Link compatibility
Link compatibility controls the default privacy level for new shared links.
When Link compatibility is disabled:
New links use the Enhanced Privacy setting by default.
Sharing between you and the recipient is fully E2EE.
Features that require server-side processing, such as media streaming, extended previews, Download Accelerator, and document editing, are unavailable.
When Link compatibility is enabled:
New links prioritize compatibility and convenience.
Enhanced Privacy is disabled by default.
Features such as media streaming, extended previews, Download Accelerator, and document editing are available because the link can use secure server-side processing.
You can still change Enhanced Privacy on each individual link after it is created. Changing this Privacy Center setting does not affect existing links.
Password reset
Beyond the features you can enable or disable in the Privacy Center, your email-based password reset setting also affects your account’s privacy level.
When email-based password reset is disabled:
Your account encryption key remains completely private (client-side only).
Password recovery can only be performed using the E2EE reset option available through the desktop app. Important: If you do not have a desktop app installed and later forget your password, you will be permanently locked out of your account if this feature is disabled.
If you previously enabled email-based password reset, disabling it will permanently purge the server-side stored copy.
When email-based password reset is enabled:
You can reset your password by email if you lose access to your account.
To make this possible, a copy of your account encryption key is securely stored server-side.
Sync still never has knowledge of your password.
Only you can enable or disable email-based password reset, as changing this setting requires your password.